Vote NO to IRL for House Bill CACR 19

Email Your State Representative

Your State Representative works for you- so be sure that your voice gets heard.

 

On WEDNESDAY, MARCH 7, House Bill  CACR19 will be voted on in the House.  The Bill proposes an Amendment to the NH Constitution’s Bill of Rights to allow our communities to enact local ordinances that protect the “health, safety and welfare” of local citizens and of nature and is a response to proposals such as Northern Pass. 

 

We are asking all of those with our shared values to write their State Representative and ask them to please vote NO to the ITL, so the Amendment can be put to a popular vote in November.

 

Below is a sample letter, with all the details, for you to copy and paste in an email. You will also find a listing of the emails for each of the state legislators in our area.

Abbreviations:

ITL – Inexpedient to Legislate

OTP – Ought to Pass

 

**Be sure to add “From Your Constituent in (YOUR TOWN) in the subject line.

Sample Email about House Bill CACR 19

Dear Representative [Your Rep’s Last Name here],

House Bill  CACR19 will be voted in the House this coming week. Please vote NO to the ITL, so the Amendment can be put to a popular vote in November.

The Bill proposes an Amendment to the NH Constitution’s Bill of Rights to allow our communities to enact local ordinances that protect the “health, safety and welfare”  of local citizens and of nature.  At the same time, it does NOT allow the establishment of ordinances that would remove or weaken any existing protections or rights of natural persons currently secured by local, state or federal law (such as 2nd Amendment Gun Rights).   When our communities wish to limit or deny a corporate wind, water, transmission line, or contaminant project we find that we do not have the Constitutional standing, in a court of law, to prevail against the Constitutional “personhood” civil rights of a corporation.   The corporation’s financial resources and “civil rights” make for an unfair fight.   This Amendment levels the playing field.  Within narrow limits, it gives Towns the flexibility to address matters of local concern without needing State enabling legislation.  The Municipal and County Government Committee has reported this out to the House as Inexpedient to Legislate on an 8-11 vote.  I believe that this substantive matter must be decided by the people themselves as the ultimate stakeholders in our system of government.   I urge you to vote no to the ITL, so that the Amendment can proceed.  Citizens are fully capable of determining for themselves whether this amendment serves their best interests.  We deserve the opportunity to set the direction and priorities of our State Government.  A vote of OTP will be an affirmation of the citizen’s rights and to due process for a government that is formed of, by and for the people.

Thank you,

[Your Full Name]

[Your Town]

House District 5 (Lincoln, Livermore, Waterville Valley, Woodstock)

Bonnie Ham  – bdham@roadrunner.com

 

House District 6  (Ellsworth, Groton, Orange, Rumney, Thornton)

Kevin Maes – kevin.maes@leg.state.nh.us

 

House District 7  (Campton)

Tiffany Johnson – tiffany.johnson@leg.state.nh.us

 

House District 8 (Hebron Holderness Plymouth)

Suzanne Smith – suzanne.smith@leg.state.nh.us

Travis Bennett – travis.bennett@leg.state.nh.us

Steve Rand – rstevenrand@yahoo.com

 

House District 9 (Alexandria, Ashland, Bridgewater, Bristol, Grafton)

Robert Hull – robert.hull@leg.state.nh.us

Vincent Migliore – vincent.migliore@leg.state.nh.us

 

House District 11  (Canaan, Dorchester, Wentworth)

Tim Josephson – tim.josephson@leg.state.nh.us

 

House District 15  (Warren)

David Binford – david.binford@leg.state.nh.us

 

House District 16  (Canaan, Dorchester, Ellsworth, Groton, Orange, Rumney, Thornton, Wentworth)

Duane Brown – duane.brown@leg.state.nh.us

 

House District 17  (Alexandria, Ashland, Bridgewater, Bristol, Enfield, Grafton)

Stephen Darrow – stephen.darrow@leg.state.nh.us